Investigative Committee Appointments

Investigative Committee Appointments

This afternoon Speaker Lockhart named nine Representatives, five Republicans and four Democrats, to the House legislative investigative committee. Posted below is Speaker Lockhart’s email to all Representatives announcing the make up of the committee. Also included below is a list of the Representatives appointed, a short bio on each, and their contact information.





This afternoon I will appoint nine members to the legislative investigative committee.  I have pondered a great deal concerning the purpose and process of this investigation, what we are asking of the committee members appointed, and the importance of fairness and openness.


I have determined that the committee will be made up of five republicans and four democrats. This investigation is not about partisan politics, it is about restoring the public trust, and to do that we need the voices and experience of both republicans and democrats.


The Committee will be chaired by Representative Lowry Snow. Representative Snow is a respected attorney and past president of the Utah State Bar, and I have every confidence that his expertise will lead this committee and this investigation with wisdom and fairness.


The House Majority Leader, Representative Brad Dee, and House Minority Leader, Representative Jennifer Seelig, will also serve on the committee, along with the following Representatives:


Representative Jim Dunnigan, Representative Lee Perry, Representative Mike McKell, Representative Rebecca Chavez-Houck, Representative Lynn Hemmingway, and Representative Susan Duckworth.


This diverse group of committee members will provide the investigation with unparalleled experience, knowledge, and leadership. The responsibility that comes with this appointment is great, as is the time commitment. I am grateful for their willingness to serve not only this legislative body, but the people of Utah.


Thank you for all of your hard work and patience during this special session. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Speaker Lockhart


Download (PDF, 50KB)